Latest Steelers Buzz

2012 Steelers Schedule: Ben vs Peyton in Week 1 among marquee matchups

Steelers open season in Denver

The Pittsburgh Steelers will open the 2012 season in primetime, traveling to Denver for a week 1 showdown with Peyton Manning and the Denver Broncos.
Pittsburgh returns to Denver who stunned the Steelers in the playoffs, but the Broncos will have a different look with no Tim Tebow and now one of the best QB’s to ever play the game behind center in Peyton Manning. It’s a week 1 matchup that will be a ratings galore for NBC.
Pittsburgh’s primetime matchup in week 1 will be one of five primetime matchups this season for the team. Pittsburgh’s nationally televised primetime games at Heinz Field include one against the Kansas City Chiefs on Monday, Nov. 12 at 8:30 p.m. (ESPN), and another on Sunday night, Nov. 18 at 8:20 p.m. against the Baltimore Ravens (NBC). Pittsburgh’s other national primetime games include road contests on Thursday, Oct. 11 at Tennessee (8:20 p.m. – NFL Network) and Sunday, Oct. 21 at Cincinnati (8:20 p.m. – NBC).
Following their week 1 matchup against Denver, Pittsburgh host the New York Jets in week 2. The Steelers close out the season with three of their last four games at home.
The Steelers and Ravens face each other twice in three weeks. The Steelers during that stretch host the Ravens in week 11, followed by a road game in Cleveland on Week 12 and then travel to Baltimore in week 13.
Aside from divisional games, among the Steelers marquee matchups include the New York Giants, Denver Broncos, Philadelphia Eagles, and Dallas Cowboys. The Steelers will have their bye week in week 4.

Steelers 2012 Regular Season Schedule

Week 1: Sun. Sept. 9 at Denver Broncos 8:20 p.m. (NBC)
Week 2: Sun., Sept. 16 VS N.Y. Jets 4:15 p.m. (CBS)
Week 3: Sun. Sept. 23 at Oakland Raiders 4:15 p.m. (CBS)
Week 4: Sun., Sept. 30 BYE
Week 5: Sun. Oct. 7 VS Philadelphia Eagles 1:00 p.m. (FOX)
Week 6: Thurs., Oct. 11 at Tennessee Titans 8:20 p.m. (NFL Network)
Week 7: Sun. Oct. 21 at Cincinnati Bengals 8:20 p.m. (NBC)
Week 8: Sun., Oct. 28 VS Washington Redskins 1:00 p.m. (FOX)
Week 9: Sun. Nov. 4 at N.Y. Giants 4:15 p.m. (CBS)
Week 10: Mon., Nov. 12 VS Kansas City Chiefs 8:30 p.m. (ESPN)
Week 11: Sun., Nov. 18 VS Baltimore Ravens 8:20 p.m. (NBC)
Week 12: Sun. Nov. 25 at Cleveland Browns 1:00 p.m. (CBS)
Week 13: Sun., Dec. 2 at Baltimore Ravens 4:15 p.m. (CBS)
Week 14: Sun. Dec. 9 VS San Diego Chargers 1:00 p.m. (CBS)
Week 15: Sun., Dec. 16 at Dallas Cowboys 4:15 p.m. (CBS)
Week 16: Sun. Dec. 23 VS Cincinnati Bengals 1:00 p.m. (CBS)
Week 17: Sun. Dec. 30 VS Cleveland 1:00 p.m. (CBS)
NOTES: The Thursday Night Football schedule on NFL Network will now feature 13 games, all on Thursdays, from Weeks 2-15 (skipping Week 12). In previous years, the NFLN slate included at least one Saturday night game. NBC will televise the Thursday night game on Thanksgiving in Week 12, in addition to the NFL Kickoff game.

About The Author

William DePaoli

TIOPS Insider

William DePaoli is the President/Founder of Inside Pittsburgh Sports LLC and can be reached at

Comments Disabled

Comments have been disabled for this post.