Latest Penguins Buzz

In closest Hart Trophy race since 2002, Ovechkin beats out Crosby to take home his third MVP Trophy

In the closest Hart Trophy Race since 2002, Alexander Ovechkin beat out Sidney Crosby to take home his third Hart Trophy as the NHL’s Most Valuable Player. Ovechkin received 1090 voting points to win the Hart, while Crosby was second with 1058 points. Ovechkin received 50 first place votes, while Crosby received 46.
Islanders center John Tavares was third with 919 points and Chicago’s Jonathan Toews was fourth with 886.
While Crosby was bypassed for the Hart Trophy, he won the Ted Lindsay Award, which is given to the league’s most outstanding player in a vote by its players. To a lot of players, this award means more to them because it’s voted on by the players.
For the Norris Trophy, awarded to the league’s most outstanding defenseman, Montreal’s PK Subban edged out Ryan Suter and Kris Letang to take home his first Norris Trophy.
Letang finished third in voting with 914 voting points. Subban had 1266 voting points, barely beating out Ryan Suter who was a close second with 1230.
Sergei Bobrovsky won the Vezina Award in a landslide.

About The Author

William DePaoli

TIOPS Insider

William DePaoli is the President/Founder of Inside Pittsburgh Sports LLC and can be reached at

Comments Disabled

Comments have been disabled for this post.