Latest Steelers Buzz

Insider Only Steelers 2009 Schedule

Thursday Sept 10 vs Tennessee (8:30 p.m., NBC)
Sunday Sept 20 @ Chicago (4:15 p.m., CBS)
Sunday Sept 27 @ CIN (1:00 p.m., CBS)
Sunday Oct 4 vs San Diego (8:20 p.m., NBC)
Sunday Oct 11 @ Detroit (1:00 p.m., CBS)
Sunday Oct 18 vs Cleveland (1:00 p.m., CBS)
Sunday Oct 25 vs Minnesota (1:00 p.m., FOX)
BYE
Monday Nov 9 @ Denver (8:30 p.m., ESPN)
Sunday Nov 15 vs CIN (1:00 p.m., CBS)
Sunday Nov 22 @ Kansas City (1:00 p.m., CBS)
Sunday Nov 29 @ Baltimore (8:20 p.m., NBC)
Sunday Dec 6 vs Oakland (1:00 p.m., CBS)
Thursday Dec 10 @ Cleveland (8:20 p.m., NFLN)
Sunday Dec 20 vs Green Bay (1:00 p.m., Fox)
Sunday Dec 27 vs Baltimore (1:00 p.m., CBS)
Sunday Jan 3 @ Miami (1:00 p.m., CBS)
Analysis: The Steelers enter the 2009 season with the

4th easiest schedule in the league after having the toughest schedule in the league last season. The Steelers have 5 prime time games.
Opponents winning percentage .434 (29th)
The opener is by far is the most intriguing game as the Super Bowl Champions open the NFL season on Thursday September 10th against the Titans at Heinz Field.
Another game that stands out is a Week 2 matchup against the Chicago Bears. This will be the Bears home opener and there is a lot of buzz surrounding the Bears with the addition of Jay Cuter. Kind of surprised Monday night football didn’t pick this game up.
4 playoff teams on their schedule
The Steelers have 5 playoff teams from 2008 on their schedule, (2 BAL, SD, MIN, MIA, TEN)
They travel to Miami and host San Diego, Tennessee and Minnesota. Cross country trips are very difficult and the Steelers have San Diego’s number at home.
Rebuilding teams on the Steelers schedule
(2)Cincinnati, (2) Cleveland, Detroit, Kansas City, Denver, Oakland
Teams to Watch
Green Bay and Chicago could be teams on the rise that the Steelers have on their schedule this season.
Steelers sign Charlie Batch
The Steelers, Charlie Batch agreed to a one-year, $895,000 deal, this afternoon. A deal has been in the works for sometime as Batch did not visit any teams via free agency and has been working out at the Steelers facility.

About The Author

William DePaoli

TIOPS Insider

William DePaoli is the President/Founder of Inside Pittsburgh Sports LLC and can be reached at wdepaoli@insidepittsburghsports.com

Comments Disabled

Comments have been disabled for this post.