Latest Steelers Buzz

2010 Schedule Announced: Steelers to open season at home against Atlanta

The Steelers official schedule has been released by WDVE, the Steelers exclusive radio rights holder.
The team will open the season September 12th at home against the Atlanta Falcons. The Steelers will have five prime time games and a 4:15 start against the New York Jets in week 15 in what will likely be a 6th national television game for the Steelers.
With a ruling on Ben Roethlisberger coming on Wednesday and at least a two game suspension expected, the schedule doesn’t favor the Steelers in weeks 1 and 2.
Week 1: Sunday, September 12, vs Atlanta Falcons (1:00 p.m.)
Week 2: Sunday, September 19, @ Tennessee (1:00 p.m.)
Week 3: Sunday, September 26, @ Tampa Bay (1:00 p.m.)
Week 4: Sunday, October 3rd, vs Baltimore (1:00 p.m.)
Week 5: Bye
Week 6: Sunday, October 17 vs Cleveland (1:00 p.m.)
Week 7: Sunday, October 24, @ Miami (1:00 p.m.)
Week 8: Sunday, October 31, @ New Orleans (8:20)
Week 9: Monday, November 8, @ Cincinnati (8:30)
Week 10: Sunday, November 14, vs New England (8:20)
Week 11: Sunday, November 21, vs Oakland (1:00 p.m)
Week 12: Sunday, November 28, @ Buffalo (1:00 p.m.)
Week 13: Sunday, December 5, @ Baltimore (8:20)
Week 14: Sunday, December 12, vs Cincinnati (1:00)
Week 15: Sunday, December 19, vs New York Jets (4:15)
Week 16: Thursday, December 23, vs Carolina (8:20)
Week 17: Sunday, January 2, @ Cleveland (1:00)
From Earlier
The NFL will announce the 2010 schedule tonight at 7:00 p.m. in what will be a two hour event on NFL network.
The NFL season will kick off Thursday, September 9th.
Ravens Insider Aaron Wilson of the Carroll County Times, mentioned on twitter this afternoon that there are rumblings that the Ravens will host the Steelers in week one on Monday night.
However, the Steelers requested to play at home in week 1 as the Pirates are home on the weekend of 17-19 and 24-26.
In February, Steelers President Art Rooney II stated that the Steelers expected to begin the season at home and be on the road for weeks 2 and 3.
The Steelers don’t like to host regular season games when the Pirates are playing at home due to parking constraints.
At home, the Steelers will play Baltimore, Cincinnati, Cleveland, New England, the New York Jets, Atlanta, Carolina and Oakland.
On the road, they will face Baltimore, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Buffalo, Miami, New Orleans, Tampa Bay and Tennessee.

About The Author

William DePaoli

TIOPS Insider

William DePaoli is the President/Founder of Inside Pittsburgh Sports LLC and can be reached at wdepaoli@insidepittsburghsports.com

Comments Disabled

Comments have been disabled for this post.