Troy Polamalu, James Harrison and rookie Maurkice Pouncey have been named to the AFC Pro Bowl Team. Polamalu and Harrison have been named starters.
The Pro Bowl will be played Sunday, January 30, 2011, at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii and televised by FOX in prime time at 7 p.m. Eastern. The Pro Bowl squads were selected by a combined voting of fans, players and coaches.
Harrison was named a starter to the AFC Pro Bowl squad for the fourth consecutive season. Voted the 2008 NFL Defensive Player of the Year, Harrison became the first player in Steelers history to record at least 10 sacks in three straight seasons, having recorded a team-leading 11 in 2010. He also leads all Steelers with six forced fumbles
Polamalu will make his sixth Pro Bowl appearance and his fifth as a starter after previously being named to the 2005-09 AFC squads. Polamalu who like Harrison is in the mix for defensive player of the year. Polamalu is tied for the AFC lead with six interceptions.
Pouncey who has emerged as one of the best centers in the NFL, is the first Steelers rookie offensive lineman to make the Pro Bowl since offensive tackle Frank Varrichione in 1956 and the first Steelers rookie since linebacker Kendrell Bell in 2002.