Crosby the favorite to win the Hart Trophy

Breakdown of the Awards; courtesy of the Canadien Press*

Hart Trophy

The official Hart winner has been determined by secret ballots cast by selected members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. goaltenders Martin Brodeur of the New Jersey Devils and Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks got the most points. CP’s panel deemed Crosby’s scoring title at 19 trumped what anybody else did. It went 7-1 that he’d win the Hart. We’re talking Wayne Gretzky-like impact when we talk Crosby. One predicted Luongo will get the Hart. Who will win: Crosby. Who should win: Crosby.

Vezina Trophy
Luongo and Brodeur led voting by league GMs for the Vezina Trophy for top goaltender, and the CP panel split 4-4 on who will win it. Brodeur had slightly better stats with a record 48 wins, a .922 save percentage, a 2.18 GAA and a career-high 12 shutouts. Luongo had 47 wins, was fourth in save percentage (.921) and was sixth in goals-against average (2.29). Luongo’s impact on his team’s rise was immense, which is why five on the panel said Luongo should win the Vezina. But Brodeur’s seniority and popularity could swing it his way. Flip a coin. Who will win: Brodeur or Luongo. Who should win: Luongo.

Norris Trophy The silverware for best defenceman will go to Lidstrom for the second year in a row and fifth time overall, or to one of Anaheim teammates Chris Pronger or Scott Niedermayer for a second time, according to the PHWA count. CP went 6-2 that Lidstrom will win it. Niedermayer got the nod from two. Who will win: Lidstrom. Who should win: Lidstrom.

Calder Trophy Pittsburgh teammates Evgeni Malkin and Jordan Staal and Colorado’s Paul Stastny got the most points for top rookie honours from PHWA voters. The CP panel was unanimous in saying Malkin will step into the TV lights. The Russian centre led all rookies in goals (33), power-play goals (16), assists (52) and points (85). He was the first player in 89 years to score goals in each of his first six NHL games. Hard to top that. Who will win: Malkin. Who should win: Malkin.

Selke Trophy The finalists in the PHWA vote on defensive forward are Carolina’s Rod Brind’Amour, who won last year, Anaheim’s Samuel Pahlsson and New Jersey’s Jay Pandolfo. Pahlsson’s work in the playoffs earned him deserved recognition and the CP panel was nearly unanimous in deciding the pesky Swede should win the Selke, but there was little Sammi buzz outside California between October and April and the panel split down the middle (4-4) between Pandolfo and Brind’Amour. Who will win: Pandolfo or Brind’Amour. Who should win: Pahlsson.

Lady Byng Trophy Detroit’s Pavel Datsyuk, who won last year, Colorado’s Joe Sakic or Tampa Bay’s Martin St. Louis will be named most gentlemanly player. This one also is decided by PHWA’s selected league-wide group. Four on the CP panel said Sakic, who won the Byng in 2001, will get it again, while two went with Datsyuk and two with St. Louis. Who will win: Sakic. Who should win: St. Louis.

Adams Award Buffalo’s Lindy Ruff, Pittsburgh’s Michel Therrien and Vancouver’s Alain Vigneault are finalists for coach of the year, which is decided by members of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association. Five on the CP panel said Ruff will take it a second year in a row, while two others picked Therrien and one said Vigneault would win it. Three said Vigneault should win it but won’t because of Buffalo’s No. 1 rank. Who will win: Ruff. Who should win: Ruff.

  • MY Take: No doubt Crosby should win the Hart Trophy. I’m just not sold on the idea that he will win it. The NHL never get’s anything right and it wouldn’t be shocking that the writers screw Crosby out of the Hart trophy because he hasn’t paid his dues. Mario only won 3 hart trophys and he atleast deserved 5. One year that sticks out to me is 1992. Lemieux led the league with 132 pts despite missing 16 games but the trophy went to Mark Messier.
  • As for the Vezenia i believe Luongo should and will win it. He was outstanding for the Canucks but because of Marty’s life time acheivements it wouldn’t surprise me to see him win. Calder will go to Malkin. No if’s and but’s. Jack Adams, i have to disagree with the Canadien press. My pick would have been Alain Vigneault.
  • Tune in tonight on Versus 7:00 p.m.

About The Author

William DePaoli

TIOPS Insider

William DePaoli is the President/Founder of Inside Pittsburgh Sports LLC and can be reached at

Comments Disabled

Comments have been disabled for this post.