Latest Penguins Buzz

Insider Only NHL Awards Rundown: Taylor Hall wins Hart Trophy

The NHL Awards show often gets ripped every year for being quirky but this years show was very well done.

There were several heart warming tributes and the league, players, ect knocked it out of the park.


Taylor Hall, New Jersey Devils

Taylor Hall became the first New Jersey Devil in team history to take home the Hart Trophy as Hall edged out Colorado’s Nathan MacKinnon.

Hall helped lead the Devils to their first playoff berth since the 2011-2012 season and had 41 points more than his next closest teammate.

Pittsburgh’s Evgeni Malkin finished 7th in voting with 97 pts.

Ted Lindsay Award (Leagues Best Player as voted on by Players)

Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

McDavid who led the NHL with 108 pts, took home the Ted Lindsay Award, which is voted by the players on who they feel was the best player in the NHL.

What gets lost with McDavid’s season is that he had a striking 84 even strength points, 20 more than any player in the NHL.

Norris Trophy
Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

This one was expected to be neck-and-neck and it was with Victor Hedman receiving 726 pts in voting to 672 for Drew Doughty.

Vezina Trophy
Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators

Rinne received 110 first place votes (646 pts) to cruise to his first Vezina Trophy at age 35. Former Penguin Marc Andre Fleury finished 4th in voting (76 pts).

Selke Trophy
Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

Kopitar (1152 pts) edged Sean Couturier (976 pts) for the leagues best 200 ft player award. Sidney Crosby finished 9th in voting.

Kessel voted Third Team Right Winger

Want the Full Story? Get "Inside Access"

About The Author

William DePaoli

TIOPS Insider

William DePaoli is the President/Founder of Inside Pittsburgh Sports LLC and can be reached at