Pittsburgh Steelers head coach Mike Tomlin who guided his team to a 12-4 regular season record, and a super bowl berth in his 2nd season has been named the 2008 Motorola Coach of the Year. The award was conducted on NFL.com from January 7th – January 21st. According to the NFL, Tomlin received over 520,000 votes.
The other finalists were Jeff Fisher of the Tennessee Titans, Tom Coughlin of the New York Giants, Mike Smith of the Atlanta Falcons, John Harbaugh of the Baltimore Ravens, and Tony Sparano of the Miami Dolphins.